Exhibit Dates: June 1 through September 1
Opening Reception: Thursday, June 1, 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm

The Jansen Art Center’s Juried Art Exhibit program features the work of emerging and established artists from around the region. Each quarter, artists of all levels are invited to submit up to five recent works of art for consideration by the jury.

The 2017 Summer Juried Exhibit features the artwork of twenty-seven artists from thirteen cities throughout the state. The exhibit includes acrylic, watercolor and oil paintings, multi-media artwork, charcoal drawings, sculpture, photography, photographic assemblage, stone on carved wood, fused glass and computer generated art.

The exhibit will be on display at the Jansen Art Center from June 1 through September 1, 2017. The Opening Reception takes place on Thursday, June 1 from 6:00 pm until 8:00 pm and features Live Music in the Piano Lounge by artist J.P. Falcon Grady. The Opening Reception is free for the public, and a wonderful opportunity to meet the artists to discuss their work.

There are three additional exhibits opening the same evening, including LOOK. by artists Barbara L. Miller and Dimitri C. Katsaros, who will give a short presentation on their work at 6:30pm; the 5th Annual Cup Show with an opportunity for guests to vote for the People’s Choice Award for their favorite ceramic cup in the exhibit, with awards being presented at 7:30pm; and Games, Puzzles and Books, an exhibit from the Whatcom Art Guild.

Generously sponsored by:

Artists included in the 2017 Summer Juried Exhibit:

Jerry Axlund (Bellingham)
Colby Amadeus Barker (Lynden)
Nicole Blankers (Lynden)
Lorraine Day (Blaine)
Dee Doyle (La Conner)
Karen Hanrahan (Bellingham)
Amani Hanson (Lynden)
Ruth Hesse (Bellingham)
Rick Klauber (Camano Island)
Johannes Kunst (Blaine)
Valerie Mayer (Point Roberts)
Gina Michel (Freeland)
Lori Nelson-Clonts (Maple Falls)
Tore Ofteness (Bellingham)
Hyun Ju Padilla (Lynden)
John Parks (Anacortes)
Steve Philbrick (Rockport)
Daniel Phillips (Lynden)
Joanne Plucy (Bellingham)
Norman Riley (Bellingham)
John Sedgwick (Sedro-Woolley)
Lyz Staman (Bellingham)
Honghong Wang (Ferndale)
Maria Wickwire (Mount Vernon)
Elizabeth Wonnacott (Blaine)
Peggy Woods (Anacortes)
Margaret Zavala-Gahard (Blaine)